Thursday, June 23, 2011

Nigel's Saves Blow Up In His Face - AGAIN

Thanks to Nigel Lythgoe deciding not to eliminate anyone last week, four dancers were going to go home this week. And thanks to Nigel's asinine decision to do this AFTER showing the bottom three last week, fanbases were mobilized and none of the seven who were in the bottom last week were in danger this week. NONE OF THEM. Instead, the bottom 3 this week consisted of Missy/Wadi, Iveta/Nick and Ryan/Ricky.

Good job, Nigel. Way to eff up another season.

While I thought using the save so early on American Idol this year was stupid in the long run, at least the people who went home the following week were justifiable in being sent home. This situation here is similar to the Corey Clark situation on AI Season 2, when on Top 9 week they went through the process of showing the Bottom 3 (Kimberley Locke, Trenyce and Carmen Rasmusen) but then at the end of the show said no one was going home except for Corey, who was disqualified. The following week, all three were out of the bottom 2, and Rickey Smith went home instead.

Between these six dancers, I can't fault the judges for saving Ricky, who delivered big-time on his solo. Nick did the only tap solo I've ever liked on this show, but because of the predicament he was in, he got cut. I was ready to see Wadi go after watching Quest Crew dance with LMFAO. Wadi was the worst last night, and his solo skills compared to the Quest Crew guys were very mediocre.

The female elimination was less clear-cut. Iveta did as good of a solo as a ballroom dancer can do, and Nigel praised Missy while criticizing Ryan's solo. But, as I said earlier, Ryan is clearly one of the pets this season, and they saved her basically for her potential. That's bull. If you don't bring it, you need to go.

The music from tonight's show:
Group dance - "Sinnerman" by Nina Simone (Amazon | iTunes)
Rage Crew - "Party Like This" by Colton B featuring Mauli B
Wadi - "Pon de Floor" by Major Lazer featuring VYBZ Kartel (Amazon | iTunes)
Missy - "Move (Metronomy Remix)" by CSS (Amazon | iTunes)
Nick - "Follow Me Down" by 3OH!3 featuring Neon Hitch (Amazon | iTunes)
Iveta - "Samba Rock" by Gennaro
LMFAO - "Party Rock Anthem" (Amazon | iTunes)
Ricky - "Riot Rhythm" by Sleigh Bells (Amazon | iTunes)
Ryan - "Moving Mountains" by Usher (Amazon | iTunes)

No comments: