Thursday, April 15, 2010

American Idol Season 9 CD On Sale May 11

The American Idol Season 9 crew will be getting a compilation CD this season. It will be available to purchase on May 11 and available for preorder at or on Friday.

Here is the track listing:
1. Lee DeWyze - Treat Her Like A Lady
2. Andrew Garcia - Forever
3. Siobhan Magnus - Paint It, Black
4. Crystal Bowersox - Me And Bobby McGee
5. Casey James - Jealous Guy
6. Aaron Kelly - I Don't Want To Miss A Thing
7. Michael Lynche - Ready For Love
8. Tim Urban - Under My Thumb
9. Didi Benami - Play With Fire
10. Katie Stevens - Let It Be

And once again, Idol/19 fail at Sales 101. These tracks are already available on iTunes already. Why not make a compilation CD of studio tracks that AREN'T, such as songs they sang during the semifinals? Sure, they'd have to record it, but the benefits outweight the costs here.

Now wouldn't this CD sound better (save for Casey's and maybe Andrew's songs)?
1. Lee DeWyze - Chasing Cars
2. Andrew Garcia - You Give Me Something
3. Siobhan Magnus - Wicked Game
4. Crystal Bowersox - Long As I Can See The Light
5. Casey James - Heaven
6. Aaron Kelly - Here Comes Goodbye
7. Michael Lynche - This Woman's Work
8. Tim Urban - Hallelujah
9. Didi Benami - Rhiannon
10. Katie Stevens - Put Your Records On

What's fascinating about this is the press release issued by RCA. The pimpage is not lost on me, although I do not understand how Aaron Kelly's Aerosmith song gets featured here. Check out this paragraph (bolding mine, wherein bold = LOL funny):

New judge Ellen DeGeneres and the talented Idol contenders exceeded already high expectations, delivering one of the competition's best seasons. American Idol: Season 9 captures many of 2010's signature performances, including Crystal Bowersox's rocking rendition of Janis Joplin's "Me and Bobby McGee," teen heartthrob Aaron Kelly's soaring cover of Aerosmith's classic "I Don't Want To Miss A Thing" and Siobhan Magnus's electric version of The Rolling Stones' "Paint It Black." Taking pages from the legendary Lennon/McCartney songbook, Casey James delivered a stunning performance of "Jealous Guy," while 17-year old Katie Stevens provided one of the season's brightest moments with the fan favorite "Let It Be."

Everyone else is relegated to "other highlights." Hmm ...

1 comment:

DJT said...

I like your suggestion of recording songs from semifinal rounds (Hollywood rounds would be good, too). They are so clueless.

In the e-mail I got about this from AI, it says:

"American Idol: Season 9 features tracks from this season top 10 including Chelsea Bowersox, Lee Dewyze and more!"